New to Gen 5 see no difference from Gen 4

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Terry HInes2
Sophomore

New to Gen 5 see no difference from Gen 4

Speeds are not even close to what I was told they would be.

See https://testmy.net/quickstats/ab8al

I was told this would be the expected speed after FPA throttling.   I am supposed to be at full speed now.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Did some testing starting a 5:30Am here and speeds look good but the charts where terrible.  This last one was at 8am do see what it looked like when I went from bonus to regular time.  IF I had this dat flow on a regular basis even if the speed dropped during peak I would be very happy. 

Unfortuanely this is the exception NOT the rule.  The rates during a single run of the test are usually all over the map, typically over 80% variance.  As a process engineer I would say the system is NOT under control.  Not sure whre the data is controlled but would expect it to be at the main office not local.  So I suspect the tech will not be able to do much except maybe point me to a better Sat. 

Can one of the techs on here explain how the data is supposed to be controlled?  I really don't care to see bursts over 100MB when it next drops to 5MB even if it gives me a 30MB average.  This seems like it would be jacking everybodys data rates around.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
MarkJFine
Professor

Are you using the internal 2G Wifi or an external wireless router? If so, it could be limiting your speed.

Try using the internal 5G Wifi or an ethernet cable directly to the modem and see if things don't pick up significantly.

You can also check your LAN speed by going to http://192.168.0.1/limited.html#!/general/lan_speed which should indicate better than ~250Mbps if it's not being bogged down by something.

* Disclaimer: I am a HughesNet customer and not a HughesNet employee. All of my comments are my own and do not necessarily represent HughesNet in any way.