Hughesnet Community

The good ole days

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The good ole days

My first computer was the Texas Instruments ti99/4a. I chose it over the Commodore vic20, because it seemed to have better sound and graphics, and at the time there was more children's educational software available for it than the vic20. Of course, the Commodore 64 was soon to surpass it in every way. The OS was TIBASIC, so I learned to program in BASIC. I was an industrial electrician at the time, and this was sort of the start of my later career as a programmer/integrator. It had 16k of memory, and the only affordable data storage device was a cassette deck. For a monitor one used a color TV and a RF modulator. Ah, those were the good ole days, when things were measured in kilobytes rather than gigabytes, and one had to actually learn a computer language to operate a computer, rather than just click a mouse. “In those days spirits were brave, the stakes were high, men were real men, women were real women and small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri were real small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri.” ― Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
21 REPLIES 21

Well, that didn't work.  I tried using the HTML editor as it didn't seem to eat my white space.  Alas, as soon as I posted, all my white space dissapeared.  Here is the message as I meant it to be: 

My first computer was the Texas Instruments ti99/4a. I chose it over the Commodore vic20, because it seemed to have better sound and graphics, and at the time there was more children's educational software available for it than the vic20. Of course, the Commodore 64 was soon to surpass it in every way.

The OS was TIBASIC, so I learned to program in BASIC. I was an industrial electrician at the time, and this was sort of the start of my later career as a programmer/integrator.