Can't reach sites

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mmatson
Freshman

Can't reach sites

I have a modem and wireless router. Both appear to be working correctly. Laptop can get onto the internet but can not enter any sites. Did diagnostic and it says my network is working correctly. The same is happening on another laptop we own. Using my phone right now. Can anyone help me? I have limited knowledge.
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

@Mmatson 

Is this something that just started?  Has it worked previously?  

Have you tried power cycling your HughesNet modem?  That's unplugging your modem at the wall outlet or power brick (NOT at the back of the modem), waiting at least thirty seconds, then plugging it back in, waiting a few minutes, then trying to go online.  If you haven't tried doing this, please do so.  

If this does not help, do you have the ability to connect a device directly to the modem with an Ethernet cable?  

View solution in original post

This just started a day or two ago. I will try your suggestion tomorrow. Thanks for explaining how to do it....my hubby was the expert and I am trying to learn.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Mmatson
Freshman

Should have said not over my limit so am not slowed down.
GabeU

@Mmatson 

Is this something that just started?  Has it worked previously?  

Have you tried power cycling your HughesNet modem?  That's unplugging your modem at the wall outlet or power brick (NOT at the back of the modem), waiting at least thirty seconds, then plugging it back in, waiting a few minutes, then trying to go online.  If you haven't tried doing this, please do so.  

If this does not help, do you have the ability to connect a device directly to the modem with an Ethernet cable?  

This just started a day or two ago. I will try your suggestion tomorrow. Thanks for explaining how to do it....my hubby was the expert and I am trying to learn.
GabeU

@Mmatson