New to Gen5 but have issues

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
WVBear
New Poster

New to Gen5 but have issues

I am new to Gen5 and just upgraded from Gen4. I have been a customer for roughly 18 years (old Direcway) so I am not a novice to the quirks of satcomms. My issue is this.....my modem has been setup for roughly 5 hours and at 5:30 am EST I can't watch youtube on a hardwired PC, wifi disabled, system. I can't even get past the 10 second commercial to watch anything in most cases yet I can download a 150mb file in 5 seconds. I found a 1min 30s video that starts right up, I set it to 144p and nothing will buffer for (no joke) 10 mins. If I go to a webpage that has a video ad or a news vid that has to load, it stalls and wont finish loading the page. Does anyone know how to fix this? I never had this or any problem on Gen4 and this is quite frustrating and so far this is looking more like a downgrade.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes it was. And my PC is connected to the modem by 4ft eternet cable.

But I have good news!!.....🎉🥁🎺🎇 ........The reinstallation of my browsers and a fresh reboot, finally brought up the "lets set up your device" message and began promptly working! YaY 🥳 So far so good 🤞🙂 Thank you for trying to help me. Now, I'm off to see what kinda trouble I can get into.......🤪

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
maratsade
Distinguished Professor IV

That sounds very frustrating, especially given the circumstances, such as time of day.  Besides what you mention in your post, what other troubleshooting have you done, if any?

I tried clearing my browser, made sure it was up to date, made sure windows etc was up to date, disabled wifi on modem, turned video saver off in hughesnet, ran connectivity tests, double checked network, proxy, and firewall and permission settings, rebooted, and dusted mt PC LoL 🙂