What does the web response test mean?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MrBill-2552
Freshman

What does the web response test mean?

I just got HughesNet service installed and found it to have slow response.  After an initial web response test result around 2 seconds, my system got two results of 0.1 seconds in the following 2 days.  What is the start and stop of this test? Does the test exclude the transport time from modem to gateway and back?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
GabeU
Distinguished Professor IV

Just like with a phone, a TV, a router, etc., a reboot can often solve problems and make a device run more smoothly, but no, it's not something that needs to be done on a regular basis. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
maratsade

The test measures the ability of your system to display a "fixed size"  web page in a reasonable amount of time. I'm not an expert, but in my opinion the test isn't very helpful, because the pages you pull up when browsing all vary quite a bit in size. The test is probably helpful if it loads up the fixed size page very slowly, but otherwise, it's probably not very helpful at all. 

If you're seeing slow response, you may want to run a test using Testmy.net.  Create a free account there so you can keep a record of your tests, and use the manual setting. Sizes should be 25MB to test downloads and 4MB to test uploads. 

The reps on this site only accept tests from Testmy.net, so you may want to restrict your testing to that site. 

Keep in mind a million things can impact your browsing speed, and many of those things are beyond our control. There are things you can do like get an ad blocker, so you will limit a bit the amount of data that the site downloads, but there are still a lot of things that slow down the works, especially during prime time.