specifically-slower YT download speeds

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
udanwudeligv
Junior

specifically-slower YT download speeds

Things are getting slower and slower here and I'm trying to figure out what's going on. 
Over the last 6 years I have, VERY frequently, gotten up early and downloaded videos off of youtube, during Bonus time, to watch later. Frequently I would be able to download 10-15 one hour videos at 360 or 480dpi in the last hour of BB time. 

NOW, using one or the other of the same 2 programs BOTH are giving me like 52 min to download a 284MB video. I'm not good at math but even I can see that's a ridiculously slow speed. At advertised max it should take 18.93 seconds. I'd settle for 18 minutes!  (It's 9:15 am and I'm trying again, it's down to 39 mintues for a 284mb file). 

But here's the thing-when I did a speed test this AM, it showed 34.4 mbps down, 2.14 up was speed test. That’s GREAT! 
When I downloaded something from iTunes it took 3 minutes. That's great! 
But the reason I don't think this is a youtube problem is that when I drive 1/2 hour to the local coffee shop, things download in seconds from youtube. 
I don't think it's the programs I'm using (not browsers)...so is it Youtube, Hughesnet or a combination? 
If I can't download things during BB time anymore, I might as well stop paying $100+ a month and drive to the coffee shop every day. It would be cheaper. 

For reference I'm on a Mac with El Capitan 10.11.6, -all Java, Flash and software updated, and on HN I'm on EchoStar-17-NAD (I'm in one of those rare places where the new sat. doesn't reach, lucky me!) on Beam 27, but I don't know how to check my signal strength. 

To reiterate-it doesn't seem to be ALL downloads, just Youtube...Help!! 

4 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
MarkJFine
Professor

Welcome from another Mac user.